How to Apply Smokey Eyeshadow


Carbon Black M.A.C. Eyeshadow Smokey Eyes
Originally uploaded by dreamglow pumpkincat210

I did this eye quite a long time ago but it keeps coming back as one of my favorites. Not only do I wear this combination, but it literally looks awesome on every eyecolor and mostly ever skin color if applied with the right pressure.  Smokey eyeshadow doesn’t have to be black or brown…smokey just means to fade up, and blend nicely into a lighter color.  You can smoke any color out with proper blending.

I used Bare Canvas paint from M.A.C. all over my lids in a thin layer. Then i used a domed fluffy brush to pick up a little bit of carbon eyeshadow by m.a.c. This is a highly pigmented matte black eyeshadow, so you should pick it up sparingly and add more if you want it darker. I moved the brush in a windshield wiper motion.

With the same fluffy domed brush I picked up some Nighttrain eyeshadow from M.A.C. it was a limited item years ago but it is basically a dark grey with sparkle, I applied it in the crease using a small circular motion. The last shadow i use is Yogurt by M.A.C. I used the large shader brush and placed it under my eyebrow and pulled it down to diffuse the black and grey shadows. Tightline your eyes with a black eyeliner, either a khol or a gel liner that will dry well. I used Blacktrack fluidline from M.A.C. Apply some black mascara and you are almost done.
The last step is to fill in your eyebrows with an angled brush and a brow powder or eyeshadow a shade darker than your hair. I usually use Omega from M.A.C. when i have blonde, bu I think i’m using Coquette in the photo.
I love this eye because it can be applied drammatically or lighter for a nice day look.

If you apply it a little heavier than I did and add some black lipstick, you can get the Lady Gaga Telephone look: http://makeupforlife.net/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/telephone-lady-gaga-black-lipstick.jpg

also read: https://pumpkincat210.wordpress.com/2010/07/07/apply-eye-makeup-better-with-these-tips/

please leave me a rating and/or a comment to let me know how i’m doing, thank  you!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/pumpkincat210/

Leave a Reply

