Watermelon Nail Art


watermelon nails
Originally uploaded by dreamglow pumpkincat210

Yay for funky nails!
These were a bit trickier than I thought originally, so make sure you have an hour to devote to them. The main reason is that i’m not a very patient person when it comes to keeping my hands still and I had to redo a couple of nails because of this. If you follow my instructions though you will have an easier time.
First apply a topcoat. I used Palladio Green Tea Nail Fortifier (not the best for a base coat, but it does strengthen nails after awhile). Wait 5 to 10 minutes while resting your hands. When your base coat is nice and dry apply two coats of a pink nail polish, I used L’oreal’s Drama Queen which has a bit of a blue/purple duochrome in it. Now wait another 5-10 minutes for that to dry.
Then take a white colored polish, I used Tokyo Pearl, from Sinful Colors, which is a metallic white and painted over the tips of my nails. This helps cover up some of the pink so when you add the green polish in a few minutes it won’t turn brown.
While your tips are drying, take a black nail polish with a thin brush, i’m using Milani Nail Art in Black Sketch. Make random, yet evenly spaced black dots on each nail up to the white tips. Wait 5 minutes.
Now take a green polish, I used Maybelline Colorama in Jaded, and painted 1 coat over the white tips. When you are done with that, keep your hands still for about 15 minutes. I know it’s a pain but with so many layers it takes a bit to dry and if you apply a topcoat it will smudge your work and make a yucky mess.
For my topcoat I used Revlon Top Speed 60 second topcoat. Don’t be fooled though, you’ll need to wait another 10-15 minutes for your nails to be nice and dry.
Clean up the edges with a pointed edge cotton swab and nail polish remover. Viola, you are done… depending on the pink you used I suppose you could call them strawberry nails too. Don’t be afraid to try out different colors too, I’d love to see some different versions of this!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/pumpkincat210/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    May 19, 2012 @ 20:49:22

    nice nails man

    Reply

  2. Cara Smith
    May 19, 2010 @ 13:07:33

    Very cute!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

