Coastal Scents 88 Matte/Satin Eyeshadow Palette: My Review

I finally ordered this palette.   I don’t know what took me so long!  I purchased the ultra shimmer 88 palette last fall and have been extremely pleased with it, so I finally ordered the sister palette.

So far, I love it.  It is about half matte colors (no shimmer) and half satin color (very little shimmer).   This palette is really good although I wish it had a bit more blues and purples.   There is a very matte red which is excellent, since red is very hard color to find in eyeshadows.  The black is very black and matte.

I have swatched some of the colors on my arm, I used an eyeshadow base by LAsplash cosmetics.

My rating is a 7 out of 10.  The points I didn’t give the palette is the lack of blues and purples, while there are alot of greens.  For 18.95 (not including shipping) it is worth it.  The color payoff is really good and most colors only took one or 2 swipes.  I did not have a problem with fall out, but I rarely do, because of  primer use and brushes.   Although the eyeshadows are only dime sized, I have not run out of any color in my ultra shimmer palette. There is such a wide variety in colors I hardly use the same color much.  Professional quality? This palette is more professional than the ultra shimmer palette in my opinion because it is less shimmery and the color shows up better on film with less of a reflection.  So far none have broken and I did knock it off my desk… And for the price…you could buy one expensive color that is double the size of one of these and pay the same amount for the palette.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 15:32:25

    Thank you soo much for the close ups! I really wanted to see how shimmerly the “satin” colors are! this is really helpful

    Reply

  2. zackapalooza
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 18:59:41

    You commented on my blog so I thought I could come check yours out, but it’s all makeup-y. 😛 I did want to say that I liked these pictures, though. You must have a good camera.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

