Elsa Schiaparelli: Everything Old is New Again

http://pumpkincat210.hubpages.com/hub/Elsa-Schiaparelli-and-her-Impact-on-Fashion

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 09:03:12

    Loved this article!! I <3 Schiap! She was such a visionary! i was just wondering about the Chanel quote though, as I'd heard that it was "that 'Italian' artist who makes clothes" because of her collaborations with Dali, Cocteau etc

    Reply

  2. Anne Gibbons
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 06:59:20

    I just found a small cloth clutch bag in my house with the Schiapparelli logo tag on it and have no idea where it came from. It is pink outside with gold markings and a grey lining. Maybe it is a jewelry holder, I don’t know. Can you help with any info on it?

    Reply

  3. Em
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 14:35:17

    Wonderful post–enjoyed all of the information and the way you put it together. I was looking for pictures of Elsa’s buttons but came away with a lot of interesting tidbits about Elsa’s life and how she fit into her time period.

    Reply

  4. missavogue
    Jul 31, 2010 @ 07:42:05

    *Gasp* I did my very first fashion History project on Elsa Schiaparelli. The stuff she did with Dali is amazing!!! My favorite was the Tear Dress. It was so beautiful once I realized what it was.

    Thanks so much for posting this! :)

    Reply

    • pumpkincat210
      Jul 31, 2010 @ 07:50:30

      that’s so cool!! i wrote the post because I realized I knew every other decade of fashion in the 20th century except for the 30’s. I was so surprised that Elsa has inspired SO much..and Salvador Dali is one of my favorite artists, my mother has an original painting by him stored at the bank. The link between them hit home and I cannot help but feel akin to her in some way. And the picture of Gogo at the end..took me nearly 2 days to find.. she has effectively disappeared, especially for a former socialite!

      Reply

  5. shinypigeon
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 10:44:21

    Beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

