MAC “Smash Hit” Dazzle Lipstick FOTD and Review


Smash Hit Self Portrait

Originally uploaded by dreamglow pumpkincat210

I finally went to MAC to check out their new collection of digi-dazzle lipsticks. I fell in love with Smash Hit, which is described as a white beige. I know you can’t tell in my picture, but this lipstick has a lot of sparkle in it, which is absolutely beautiful! Dazzle!

Eyes:
MAC Rubenesque Paint Pot
MAC All That Glitters Eyeshadow
MAC Elite Eyeshadow
MAC Brownborder technakhol eyeliner
MAC Plushlash Plushblack Mascara
Cheeks:
Porcelain Pink Mineralize Skinfinish
Lips:
Maybelline Clear Lipliner
MAC Smash Hit Dazzle Lipstick

also read: https://pumpkincat210.wordpress.com/2010/07/07/apply-eye-makeup-better-with-these-tips/

Okay, meh, I do like the lipstick, but the small sparkles ended up around my mouth after awhile and I could not get them off!  Maybe I won’t get the others and I made a good choice because this color is so neutral I can use different colored lipliners to alter the look.

If you found this post helpful click on the stars to rate me or leave a comment.  thanks!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marianna68
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 20:59:35

    Thanks! I have hazel eyes (think blue/green). Will save the tips!

    Reply

    • pumpkincat210
      Aug 16, 2010 @ 21:12:23

      Oh, I’m sorry I could not tell because your picture was in black and white. Hazel and green eyes also look great in purples. I’m about to post on the origins of green eyes…

      Reply

  2. marianna68
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 20:17:11

    I wish I had the patient/talent. I have always been told I had beautiful eyes but to play them up like THIS. What a sight that would be. :^)

    Reply

    • pumpkincat210
      Aug 16, 2010 @ 20:58:33

      You should definitely try it out once. Most people don’t wear as much makeup as I do, and i wear more only in my photographs or for going out somewhere special at night.
      Do you have brown eyes? if so I recommend 2 eyeshadow colors, a light purple and light neutral for your under brow highlight. Mascara in black.
      You’ll only need two brushes, a domed eyeshadow brush and a eyebrow highlight brush. Sonia Kashuk for Target makes great affordable brushes! Also beauty supplies, like Sally’s have good brushes. Makeup quality and the tools have come leaps and bounds in the last few years. It is of much better quality. Look at these quads from Milani, I highly recommend this brand:
      http://www.milanicosmetics.com/p-24-shadow-wear-quad.aspx
      and for eyeliner felt tip is easy to use: http://www.milanicosmetics.com/p-66-eye-tech-liquid-liner.aspx
      and if you want to fill in your eyebrows (helps to frame the face and bring the whole look together try one of these: http://www.milanicosmetics.com/p-34-brow-fix-eye-brow-powder-kit.aspx (powder is much more natural looking than pencils)

      The simplest finished look is only mascara, lipstick and blush/bronzer. Natural but still polished!

      Reply

  3. marianna68
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 17:54:04

    LOVE the eyes. How did you do that?

    Reply

    • pumpkincat210
      Aug 16, 2010 @ 18:17:03

      It’s really easy once you get the hang of it. I used my finger to pat on Rubenesque paint pot all over my eyelids. then I took a domed eyeshadow brush and applied “all that glitters” to the lid almost to my eyebrow. then I took a smaller domed eyeshadow brush and applied elite(dark bronze) eyeshadow to my lashline and in a swirling motion smoked it up. I applied Goldbit eyeshadow (which i forgot to mention) under my browbone. Lastly i applied brownborder eyeliner to my lashline (inner and outer) and put on mascara.
      The smokiness really depends on your use of brushes and blending, but it’s really not hard. thank you for your comment!

      Reply

  4. pumpkincat210
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 23:32:57

    Thank you! The collection had some very diverse colors, but you can bend the color of this one and also “liquid lurex” very easily with lipliners.

    Reply

  5. SantanaMaria
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 22:30:21

    This is such a pretty look! The lipstick looks good on you! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

