Wait! Before you buy that lipstick…

I just had to get rid of about 25 lipsticks, lipglosses and mascara because of old age.   On my eye products i write on them the date I opened them so I know when they are too old to throw them out, but I don’t do that on my lip products.  I was really stupid and had a favorite few lip products that I didn’t use much because they were limited edition items that i would not be able to purchase when they ran out of stock.   So I went to use one and it smelled rancid.  I thought about it and realized that i’d been saving it for years and had basically wasted it.

Before you buy new lip products consider only purchasing what you really need and what looks great on you, not because it is your favorite color (for me it’s purple, but i don’t wear purple lips often).  

The basic colors for lipsticks are:

  • pink
  • mauve
  • red
  • brown
  • coral
  • berry

Nudes fall under any category depending on your natural lip color.  Normally people fall into the pink, brown or coral categories for nudes, but not everyone.

Try to stick to purchasing only a couple from each category that look fabulous on you.  Storing lip products in the refrigerator can lengthen their life, but sometimes they will “sweat”, and continuous sweating will cause them to not apply evenly on your lips.   If you buy expensive lip products think about buying from M.A.C. because for every 6 empty or old containers you bring in of M.A.C. brand, you can get a free lipstick from their regular line excluding the Viva Glam lipsticks.  At M.A.C. stores you can have a larger choice..eyeshadow, lipstick or lipglasses.

Drugstore brand lipsticks have come a long ways in the last few years.   They have alot better pigmentation and staying power.  Some of my favorite less expensive lip product brands are Milani, Jane and N.Y.C.(for only .75 cents it’s worth it).

Here is a list of the shelf life of cosmetics:

  • Blush and Bronzer: 2 years
  • Concealer: 12-18 months
  • Cream Blush: 12-18 months
  • Cream Eye shadow: 12-18 months
  • Cream or Compact Foundation: 18 months
  • Eyeliner: 2 years
  • Lip gloss: 18-24 months
  • Lip liner: 2 years
  • Lipstick: 2 years
  • Liquid eyeliner: 3-6 months
  • Mascara: 3 months
  • Nail Polish: 1 year
  • Oil-Free Foundation: 1 year
  • Powder Eye shadow: 2 years
  • Powder: 2 years

I’m really bad about my powder products.  I have some more than 2 years old.  Since I do not share my makeup and always wash my brushes I don’t stick to this rule much unless my shadow gets a film on it, in which I don’t use it after that.  I don’t even  attempt to scrape it off or sanitize it with alcohol.   Mascara and liquid eyeliner I always throw away after 3 months.  Since it is so close to the eye membrane infection could easily happen.  Never pump your mascara, stir it, that way air doesn’t get into the container and cause bacteria to grow as fast.  So far I have never had a bad reaction to old makeup.   Always remove it before bed and make sure your eyes are clean.  Makeup left in the corners of your eyes can clog your tear ducts or creep into to your sinus cavity and cause infection.  Other makeup can clog your pores and cause breakouts.. then when you use your makeup with a brush and double dip, you are getting even more bacteria in your makeup.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. missavogue
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 23:26:14

    Awwwwwwwww thanks!!! I needed that checklist! All I knew was mascara expires after 3 months. I had no clue about the rest of it.

    Reply

  2. Janet
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 19:03:33

    I stopped wearing lipstick and have turned to lip gloss only because lipstick dries out my lips and feels unnatural.

    Reply

  3. dolcearia
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 01:33:53

    I’m not as good about this stuff as I really ought to be…. I did jump a little bit when you commented on the makeup in the corners of your eyes. No matter WHAT Makeup remover I use, a few hours later I ALWAYS have a good amount built up that way. There’s been a few times that I’ve blown my nose at work, and noticed portions of blue or pink in it from the previous days makeup. No infections yet, but that’s REALLY unnerving!

    I only think I’ve had one lipstick go rancid on me, and it did THAT after an absurdly short time. It was an off-brand from a local beauty store. And not my favorite color, so I didn’t care. I may have to start storing the others in the fridge now though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

